Home > Uncategorized > Generational Warfare: The Case Against Parasitic Baby Boomers – NationalJournal.com

Generational Warfare: The Case Against Parasitic Baby Boomers – NationalJournal.com

October 10, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

Generational Warfare: The Case Against Parasitic Baby Boomers

Two generations spar over the wreckage the baby boomers leave behind.

By Jim Tankersley

Updated: October 7, 2012 | 7:35 a.m.

October 4, 2012 | 4:00 p.m.

ROB FINCH VISUALS

Oregonian gothic: The family cabin at Crescent Lake.

CRESCENT LAKE, Ore.—My father taught me how to throw a baseball and divide big numbers in my head and build a life where I’d be home in time to eat dinner with my kid most nights. He and my mother put me through college and urged me to follow my dreams. He never complained when I entered a field even less respected than his. He lives across the country and still calls just to check in and say he loves me.

His name is Tom. He is 63, tall and lean, a contracts lawyer in a small Oregon town. A few wisps of hair still reach across his scalp. The moustache I have never seen him without has faded from deep brown to silver. The puns he tormented my younger brother and me with throughout our childhood have evolved, improbably, into the funniest jokes my 6-year-old son has ever heard. I love my dad fiercely, even though he’s beaten me in every argument we’ve ever had except two, and even though he is, statistically and generationally speaking, a parasite.

via Generational Warfare: The Case Against Parasitic Baby Boomers – NationalJournal.com.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

