Home > Uncategorized > How Good an Investment Were the Bailouts? | The Big Picture

How Good an Investment Were the Bailouts? | The Big Picture

September 26, 2012 Leave a comment Go to comments

The Treasury Department (and their defenders) insist the bailouts were good investments. The following almost true story might provide some insight into how true that argument is.

~~~

George and Martha, a wealthy older couple, comes into my office. They are not happy with their current stockbroker. Concerned about their future, they ask if I would have a look at their portfolio.

Certainly, we do these reviews all the time. As it turns out, this review would be very different from what I am used to. We sit down to discuss their investments, and perusing their 12-figure account, I almost fall out of my seat. The portfolio is festooned with every risky stock of the past five years. I have to restrain myself from sarcastically asking “What, no Facebook IPO shares?”

Instead, I simply say “Please tell me a little bit about yourselves.”

via How Good an Investment Were the Bailouts? | The Big Picture.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

